3D Or Not 3D, That Is The Question.

Yay, the newest movie fad. Woopty-shit.

I hate watching 3D movies. I hate wearing those stupid glasses overtop of my regular glasses. They’re awkward, freaking uncomfortable and actually becomes fairly painful after an hour and a half.  It wouldn’t be so bad if there were ones that were made to clip onto glasses that people are already wearing, but no. Wearing those stupid glasses actually detracts from my enjoyment of the movie. I go out of my way to avoid seeing a movie in 3D because I dislike the experience so much.

I’ve seen over a dozen 3D movies in theatres in the past few years and I can count on one hand the number of times I’ve been impressed by the 3D. By far the best 3D movie I’ve ever seen was The Legend of the Guardians: The Owls of Gahoole. Holy shit that movie was stunning. There were more than a few times during that movie where I thought my jaw was going to hit the floor. I was watching it with a friend and we would frequently turn to each other with a look of astonishment and amazement on our faces. That was good 3D. Second best 3D was A Christmas Carol, the CGI one starring Jim Carrey. Third best was Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, and the 3D was only used in the first 30 minutes of the movie, the rest of the movie was normal. Fourth was Avatar and fifth was The Nightmare Before Christmas. That’s it. That’s my entire list of good 3D. Are you sensing a little bit of a theme here? Three of those movies are completely animated and one of them is almost completely animated. All of the other 3D movies I’ve seen have not impressed me much.

I recently saw the new Godzilla movie in 3D. I remember the opening shot of a helicopter flying over a jungle, and I remember that being in 3D. The entire rest of the movie I kept thinking “So, where’s the 3D? Why am I paying extra money to see a 3D movie when the movie doesn’t even look 3D?” I honestly don’t think any of the rest of the movie was 3D. It was very lackluster and underwhelming. I ended up feeling disappointed and kind of cheated.

It’s getting to the point where I don’t even think movie studios put any effort into making good-looking 3D. I think all they do is stick “3D” on the end of the title and jack up the price, hoping nobody will notice. It’s just a gimmick and I don’t think it’s worth it most of the time. Not every movie needs to be in 3D. Christopher Nolan was asked to make Inception in 3D and he chose not to. He said that he thought the 3D would take away from the story, and I think he’s right. I think studios should just give up on the 3D fad and use the money that would have been spent on 3D on better writing or directing or something that puts more quality storytelling into the movie. It’s the whole “style over substance” crap that pisses me off.

Leave a Reply

